NOWNESS iMix: Chris Holmes - The Alchemist

The DJ Shares an Excerpt From His Set at Le Baron, Tokyo

In Tokyo’s glittering Aoyama district, along an alleyway of darkened boutiques and shuttered stores, a small neon “B” is the lone indicator of Le Baron—the eastern outpost of one of Paris’s trendiest nightclubs. It’s an intimate insider stopover, frequented by cutting edge musicians and a savvy international set, with secret rooms designed by Marc Newson. And it’s here that the beamy and beloved nocturnal optimist Chris Holmes, a.k.a. the musician responsible for storied orchestral pop album Dan Loves Patti under the moniker Yum Yum, co-founder of Ashtar Command, and a highly coveted DJ, (he’s opened for Paul McCartney and Radiohead, and collaborated with Felix Da Housecat, Daft Punk, Soulwax, LCD Soundsystem, Prince, Bloc Party, Interpol, Bauhaus, Justice, Spank Rock, Fischerspooner, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Peaches, Chemical Brothers, MSTRKRFT, Hot Chip, and Mark Ronson, to name a few), set Le Baron in motion one night during Atoms For Peace’s trip to Japan this summer, soon to be joined by Thom Yorke and Nigel Godrich on the turntables. Here, he shares selections from his playlist with NOWNESS, (the iMix is available via iTunes here):

• Can: "I want more" (from Flow Motion, 1976)
• Breakbot: "Baby I'm Yours" (from Baby I'm Yours EP, 2010)
• Serge Gainsbourg: "Requiem Pour un Con (BOF Le Pacha)" (from 
• Holy Ghost: "Hold On" (single, 2007)
• Robyn: "Dancing On My Own" (from Body Talk Pt 1, 2010)
• LCD Soundsystem "I Can Change" (from This is Happening, 2010)
• Magic Wands: "Black Magic" (single, 2008)
• Digital Underground: "Doowutchyalike" (from Sex Packets, 1990)
• Standells: "Dirty Water" (single, 1966)
• Maximum Balloon: "Communion" (from Maximum Balloon, 2010)
• Cults: "Go Outside" (single, 2010)
• Velvet Underground: "I'm Waiting for the Man" (Ashtar Command edit)
• The Starlets: "You Don't Love Me" (single, 1965)
• Rye Rye: "Shake it to the Ground" (single, 2008)
• Best Coast: "When I'm With You" (single, 2009)
• E.L.O.: "The Lights Go Down" (from Time, 1981)


No comments have been added yet

Add A Comment

You must be logged in to comment

Previously In music

View Full music Archive