Atoms for Peace: Live in the East

A Rare Sighting of Thom Yorke and Flea's New Band at Fuji Rocks 2010

Indie kids the world over are buzzing about Atoms for Peace, the new Thom Yorke-fronted band whose members include Flea (of the Red Hot Chili Peppers), Nigel Godrich (Radiohead’s longtime producer), Joey Waronker (who’s played with R.E.M., Beck, and Elliot Smith), and Mauro Refosco (of David Byrne’s band). They’re a mysterious bunch, with only a handful of tour dates under their belts, no tracks yet recorded, and set lists mainly comprised of material from Yorke’s 2006 solo album The Eraser. But despite their disparate backgrounds, the five have “amazing chemistry as musicians,” says Chris Holmes—a musician and deejay who has traveled with Yorke and co. from Los Angeles to Buenos Aires and Mexico City. “Atoms For Peace might have the best rhythm section I have ever seen,” he continues, reminiscing about their breathtaking performance at the Fuji Rocks festival in Naeba, Japan, this August. Although professional photographers were banned from the photo pit after the first three songs at this show, Holmes was allowed to stay as a friend of the band, capturing the above portfolio of images, which we exclusively premiere today. “I figured I’d shoot something different,” says Holmes. “Each song felt like a masterwork of an artist in their prime. And I tried to capture some of that magic in my photos.”

Read up on our favorite rock supergroups here. Chris Holmes shares an exclusive iMix here.
(Read More)


No comments have been added yet

Add A Comment

You must be logged in to comment

Previously In music

View Full music Archive